Comments Off on DIAGONALE’24 – THE WINNERS

This post is also available in: Italiano (Italian) Deutsch (German)

During the Diagonale ’24, international juries awarded Austria’s most prestigious film prizes, honouring the many achievements associated with film production. Source: press release.

Celebrating Austrian Cinema

During the Diagonale ’24, international juries awarded Austria’s most prestigious film prizes, totalling around EUR 119,500, honouring the many achievements associated with film production. A total of 123 films were represented, from established directors to new discoveries. As usual, feature films, documentaries, short films and innovative films were presented, and a large number of films in competition celebrated their Austrian or world premieres on Graz movie screens in the presence of the directors – 84 productions to be precise.

In the presence of Vice Chancellor Werner Kogler and Culture Councillor Günter Riegler, 20 film prizes were awarded at the Orpheum in Graz, including the Grand Diagonale Prize of the Province of Styria for Best Feature Film and Best Documentary and the Diagonale Prize for Innovative Film of the City of Graz. The evening was hosted by Marina Lacković, accompanied by EsRap.

All award winners received a work of art, designed and created by artist Anna Paul: the Golden Nutmeg Diagonale, a full-scale bronze object of a nutmeg that fits in any trouser or skirt pocket – a companion for all occasions!

Here are all the winners of the Diagonale’24.

Best Feature Film

Losing Faith by Martha Mechow

Best Documentary Film

Anqa by Helin Çelik

Best Innovative, Experimental, or Animation Film

DIN 18035 by Simona Obholzer

Best Short Feature Film

Yarê by Sallar Othman

Best Short Documentary Film

Those next to Us by Bernhard Hetzenauer

Best Young Talent Film

Glückstag by Bernhard Wohlfahrter

Best Artistic Editing Feature Film

– Leandro Koch and Javier Favot for The Klezmer Project

Best Artistic Editing Documentary Film

– Sara Fattahi for Anqa

Best Cinematography Feature Film

– Nora Einwaller for Asche

Best Artistic Cinematography Documentary Film

Julia Gutweniger for Vista Mare

Best Sound Design Feature Film

– Matz Müller and Tobias Fleig for The Devil’s Bath

Best Sound Design Documentary Film

Florian Kofler for Vista Mare

Best Production Design

– Martin Reiter for Sleeping with a Tiger

Best Costume Design

– Tanja Hausner for Club Zero

Best Actress

– Birgit Minichmayr for Sleeping with a Tiger

Best Actor

– Voodoo Jürgens for Rickerl

VAM Prize for Outstanding Production Services

– coop99 Filmproduktion for Sleeping with a Tiger

– 2010 Entertainment for Rickerl

Best Soundtrack Feature Film

– Markus Binder for Club Zero

Best Soundtrack Documentary

– Anna Ljungberg for Night of the Coyotes

Diagonale Audience Prize of the Kleine Zeitung

Favourite Film of the Diagonale’24

Caravan by Lucy Ashton

Cinema Austriaco sincerely congratulates all the winners!

Info: the website of the Diagonale