This post is also available in: Italiano (Italian) Deutsch (German)

On behalf of the Franz Grabner Board of Directors, the Diagonale is pleased to announce the nominations for the Franz Grabner Award 2020.

Cinema and reality

On behalf of the Franz Grabner Board of Directors, the Diagonale – Austria’s most important film festival – is pleased to announce the nominations for the Franz Grabner Award 2020.


This Movie is a Gift by Anja Salomonowitz (AT 2019)

Johanna Dohnal – Visionary of Feminism by Sabine Derflinger (AT 2019)

Earth by Nikolaus Geyrhalter (AT 2019)


Peter Turrini – Eine komische Katastrophe by Danielle Proskar (AT 2019)

Sklaven für die Alten? by Ed Moschitz (AT 2019)

Viva la vulva by Gabi Schweiger (AT 2019)

The Franz Grabner Award 2020 is awarded at the Diagonale ’20 in the categories documentary film and TV documentary and consists of €5,000 each – donated by the production associations AAFP and Film Austria and the ORF. The prize money is intended for the development of the winners’ projects.

The Franz Grabner Award 2020 will be presented on Thursday, March 26 at 3 p.m. at the Hotel Wiesler, Salon Frühling, during a ceremony. The award ceremony is supported by the Federal Ministry for Art, Culture, Public Service and Sport, Fernsehfonds Austria and the Filmcommission Graz. The opening speech will be given by Alexander Horwath.

GIVE ME LIBERTY! – Two films, one meeting… and a master class

The invitation to Alexander Horwath to speak at this year’s ceremony led to the planning of a three-part meeting, which, in addition to the ceremonial speech itself, also includes two exceptional film screenings. Both are to be observed within the context of documentary film. In connection with Horwath’s speech, the Diagonale will screen two international works from the In Referenz section: Give Me Liberty (US 2019, Austrian premiere) by Kirill Mikhanovsky on March 26 and Hat Wolff von Amerongen Konkursdelikte begangen? (AT/DE 2004) by Gerhard Benedikt Friedl on March 27.

With Give Me Liberty, Kirill Mikhanovsky (screenwriter and director) and Alice Austen (screenwriter and producer) have created one of the most moving US productions in recent years. Following the exclusive Austrian premiere of the independent production, which premiered at the Sundance Film Festival 2019, Mikhanovsky and screenwriter Alice Austen will hold a masterclass in Graz.

The Franz Grabner Award 2020 was established by the Grabner family, AAFP, Film Austria, ORF and the Diagonale in memory of ORF journalist Franz Grabner (1955-2015). The prize is awarded for the ethically and morally responsible and credible way in which filmmakers deal with their media.

Jury 2020

Max Czollek (author, curator, DE)

Paul Pauwels (President of the Jury, BE)

Marketa Štinglová (Director of the International Content Project Centre/Czech Television – Czech Television, CZ)

Mona Willi (editor, director, AT)

Congratulations to all the nominees!

Info: the website of the Diagonale